Unofficial Election Results Are In


Unofficial election results came in last night, and many of the local races were decided by a wide margin. Of the 17,148 registered voters in Simpson County, over 8,896 cast their ballots, and participated deciding new leadership. This is one of the largest turnouts with over 51 percent of the voting population participating.

The most anticipated outcome of the election was the decision on the liquor referendum. Simpson County citizens were decisive, and there were 5,162 votes in favor of the sale of alcoholic liquors compared to 3,277 against.

The Sheriff’s race was also widely discussed during the months before the election, and it was Paul Mullins who emerged as the victor. Mullins received 66 percent of the votes to win his race against Darrell Walker. Witt Fortenberry will be Simpson County’s new Circuit Clerk after defeating Terrence Norwood. Fortenberry received 61 percent of the votes. Incumbent Tommy Joe Harvey will retain his position as Chancery Clerk. Harvey defeated Willie Ree McDonald and Bill Jerrolds to retain the office.

There will be two new faces on the Board of Supervisors. G. Mitchell Chatman will be taking over as Supervisor of District 1, and Donny Welch will be the new Supervisor of District 4. Danny Craft, Brian Kennedy, and Randy Moore won their respective races to remain members of the Board.

The following is a complete list of results in Simpson County. Election results have yet to be certified.

****Unofficial Election Results****

****23 of 23 Precincts Reporting****


Jim Hood-3,784

Tate Reeves-5,454

Bob Hickingbottom-29

David Singletary-124

Lieutenant Governor

Delbert Hosemann-6,218

Jay Hughes-3,047

Secretary of State

Johnny Dupree-3,301

Michael Watson-5,904

Attorney General

Jennifer Riley Collins-3,378

Lynn Fitch-5,956

State Auditor

Shad White-7,404

State Treasurer

Addie Lee Green-3,040

David McRae-6,209

Commissioner of Agriculture

Rickey Cole-3,082

Andy Gipson-6,179

Commissioner of Insurance

Robert E. Amos-3,029

Mike Chaney-6,253

Public Service Commissioner

Dane Maxwell-5,957

Connie Moran-3,221

Transportation Commissioner

Tom King-7,392

District Attorney

Matt Sullivan-7,356

State Senate Dist. 35

Chris Caughman-7,443

State House of Rep. 62

Tom Weathersby-79

State House of Rep. 77

Price Wallace-5,360

State House of Rep. 90

Noah Sanford-1,343

State House of Rep. 91

Bob Evans-884

Chancery Clerk

Tommy Joe Harvey-6,277

Willie Ree McDonald-2,717

William J. Jerrolds-278

Circuit Clerk

Witt Fortenberry-5,770

Terence Norwood-3,528


Terry Tutor-7,508


Paul Mullins-6,302

Darrell Walker-3,049

Tax Assessor

Jamie Reed Brewer-7,445

Supervisor District 1

G. Mitchell Chatman-1,410

Supervisor District 2

Danny Craft-1,594

Supervisor District 3

Brian Kennedy-1,619

Supervisor District 4

Donny Welch-1,309

Hardy Williams-535

Supervisor District 5

Larry Barnes-653

Randy Moore-1,496

Justice Court Judge Post 1

Ted Blakeney-3,411

Justice Court Judge Post 2

Charles A Savell-3,986

Constable Post 1

Randall Coleman-3,478

Constable Post 2

Christopher Jones-3,994

County Wide Liquor Referendum